Learn more about pending transactions when requesting Lyft Business rides in this article.
In this article, we'll cover:
What is a pending transaction?
‘Pending’ transactions are temporary authorizations from Lyft to make sure your payment method works. A Lyft transaction marked as ‘pending’ is a temporary reduction of estimated funds owed. Once the total cost is finalized and your bank provider processes the transaction, the temporary authorization will either become a final charge, disappear completely or appear as a refund.
Why am I seeing this?
You may see a pending transaction on your payment method after a ride is requested via Concierge or Business Profiles and when you have enabled per ride billing.
The temporary authorization amount depends on the ride cost, region, and selected ride type. If the temporary authorization causes your account to overdraft, you’ll need to contact your bank or financial institution for next steps.
Pending transactions versus charges
Any extra pending transactions on your bank statement is likely a temporary authorization. You may see several temporary authorizations on your bank statement if you and/or your riders request more than one ride.
Once your bank releases the authorization, only the final ride charge from Lyft will remain on your account. You can see a full breakdown of all final ride charges in the ‘Rides’ tab in the Lyft Business Portal.