Cancel a Concierge ride that has been requested on my behalf

You can cancel a Concierge ride that has been requested for you using SMS messaging on your mobile phone.

If you no longer need a Concierge ride, you can cancel the ride on your own by replying 8 to the SMS message you receive when the ride is requested for you.

If you do not have a mobile phone that can receive SMS messages, you'll need to contact the organization who requested the ride for you directly to cancel the ride.


How do I cancel my Concierge ride?

You will always receive an initial text message letting you know that a ride has been requested for you from an organization. This text message will include the following instructions to cancel the ride if you no longer need it:

"Reply 8 if you no longer need this ride."

SMS_01__iphone_.png

Now, follow the steps below to cancel your ride:

  1. Reply 8 to the message(s) you received when you're ready to cancel your ride
  2. You'll receive another text message asking you to confirm that you really want to cancel the ride. Reply 88 to this text message to confirm the cancellation
  3. The last text message you'll receive will let you know the ride has been cancelled successfully

SMS_03__iphone_.png  SMS_04a__iphone_.png  SMS_05a__iphone_.png

If there is more than one ride scheduled on your behalf, you will still need to contact the organization to have them cancel the ride for you on their end. This is to prevent the cancellation of the wrong ride. If you reply 8, you will receive the following message:

ALT_SMS_01__iphone___2_.png

Please note that you only need to cancel rides that have been requested on-demand, or that have been pre-scheduled on your behalf. If you've been sent a flexible ride link, simply do not use the link if you do not need the ride anymore.


How long do I have to cancel a Concierge ride without penalty?

From the moment you receive the initial text message letting you know that a ride has been requested or pre-scheduled on your behalf, you can cancel the ride.

Lyft's cancellation policy also applies to Concierge rides. To avoid incurring a cancellation fee on the ride, the following conditions must be met: 

  • You cancel the ride within 2 minutes of the driver accepting
  • You cancel the ride after the driver has breached the initial estimated time of arrival for pickup by 5 minutes or more

Please read Lyft's full cancellation policy for riders.

Back to top