Troubleshooting deactivated rider accounts

Learn more about why a rider account may be deactivated and what to do if this impacts a ride request.

In this article, we'll cover:


About deactivated rider accounts

We take the safety and integrity of our community seriously. Rider accounts can be deactivated from the Lyft platform for a number of reasons, including any violation of the Lyft Terms of Service which include our Community Guidelines. 


How deactivated rider accounts affect Concierge ride requests 

If you attempt to request a Concierge ride for a deactivated rider account, you will receive the following error message along with directions to this support article:

"This rider account has been deactivated from the Lyft platform for violations of the Lyft Terms of Service."

This error message means that the rider account you are requesting the Concierge ride for has been deactivated from taking Lyft rides due to violations of the Lyft Terms of Service.

Scheduled ride requests

Scheduling rides in advance will help to avoid disruption when you can’t request a ride for someone because they are associated with a deactivated rider account. If you attempt to schedule a Concierge ride for a deactivated rider account, you will be notified that the rider account has been deactivated via the error message above. 

If a rider account is deactivated after a ride has been scheduled but before the scheduled pickup time, then the ride will be canceled. If you are using Concierge on a web browser, you will see the canceled ride request under your “Notifications” tab. If you are using Concierge API, you will be notified of the canceled ride request via a webhook with the “canceled_by” reason as “Lyft”. In either case, the rider will be notified of the canceled ride request via the phone number provided with the ride request. 

On-demand requests

If you request an on-demand Concierge ride for a deactivated rider account, you will be notified that the rider account has been deactivated via the error message above.  

Flex ride requests

If you request a flex Concierge ride for a deactivated rider account, you will be notified that the rider account has been deactivated via the error message above.

If a rider account is deactivated after you request a flex ride but before the rider dispatches the ride via the SMS link, then the ride request will be canceled. If you are using Concierge on a web browser, you will see the canceled ride request under your “Notifications” tab. If you are using Concierge API, you will be notified of the canceled ride request via a webhook with the “canceled_by” reason as “Lyft”.

Back to top