Receiving a Lyft Pass from your organization

Lyft Pass helps organizations cover all or a portion of the cost of your rides so that it’s easy for you to get around. There are 3 ways an organization can share Lyft Pass with you:

Remember, all rides taken using Lyft Pass must be taken under your personal profile.


Lyft Pass shared with you via your mobile phone number

An organization can share Lyft Pass to your mobile phone number, and it will be automatically added into your Lyft account. If you don’t have a Lyft account, you’ll need to sign up for one for the pass to be automatically added upon successful sign up.

  1. You’ll receive an SMS text and push notification to your mobile phone letting you know Lyft Passhas been sent to you. If you do not yet have an Lyft account and the Lyft app, you’ll receive an SMS text letting you know Lyft Pass has been shared with you
  2. Tap the banner to open your Lyft app where you’ll see a screen that details the value of the Lyft Pass you’ve been given
  3. Tap See details to view the name of Lyft Pass that was shared with you, the full details of the value, and any restrictions of how the pass can be used
  4. Tap Done to close the details screen
  5. To view the details and restrictions again at any time, tap the menu icon in the top left corner of your Lyft app, tap Promos, and look for the Lyft Pass name in the list of promos

Lyft Pass shared with you via your work or organization email address

Lyft Pass can be shared with you using your work or organization email address.

  1. In your work email inbox, open the email with the subject line, “[Org] sent you a Lyft Pass.” Tap the Claim your pass button in the email. If you are new to Lyft and do not yet have an account, you’ll be prompted to download the app instead. We recommend opening the email on your mobile device so you can easily download or access your Lyft app.
  2. If you’re on your mobile device, your Lyft app will automatically open and you’ll see a screen that details the Lyft Pass you’ve been given
  3. Tap See details to view the name of Lyft Pass that was shared with you, the full details of the value, and any restrictions of how the pass can be used
  4. Tap Done to close the details screen
  5. To view the details and restrictions again at any time, tap the menu icon in the top left corner of your Lyft app, tap Promos, and look for the Lyft Pass name in the list of promos

An organization can share Lyft Pass with you by providing you with a code that needs to be manually entered in the Promos tab of your app, or a clickable link that will automatically add the code in your app.

You’ve been given a code

  1. Open the Lyft app on your mobile device and tap the menu icon in the top left corner of the screen
  2. Tap Promos
  3. Enter the code given to you in the Enter promo code box at the top of the screen
  4. A green success banner will appear letting you know the code was accepted
  5. The Lyft Pass name will appear in the list of promos, where you’ll also see the of the value and restrictions of the pass that was given to you

You’ve been given a clickable link

  1. Click the link that has been given to you by the organization. We recommend clicking the link on your mobile device for easy access of your Lyft app
  2. Your Lyft app will open automatically and the code will be automatically entered on the Promos screen
  3. A green success banner will appear letting you know the code was accepted
  4. The Lyft Pass name will appear in the list of promos, where you’ll also see the of the value and restrictions of the pass that was given to you

If you receive an error message stating that the code you entered or link has already been used, please contact the organization to let them know you need a new code or link. 

Back to top